Articles on: Tracker Best Practices

Who can Serve Process in Missouri?

Service of process within the state, except as otherwise provided by law, shall be made by the sheriff or a person over the age of 18 years who is not a party to the action. EXCEPT in the City of St. Louis (22nd Judicial District) requires that all persons who want to become process servers must take and pass a training course (5 nights of classroom instruction with written examination) administered by the Sheriff of the City of St. Louis. Applicants must be 21 years of age, have a high school diploma or GED and no criminal record. All process servers are required to have E&O coverage with limits of at least $100,000.

Missouri Rules of Civil Procedure

Updated on: 24/03/2023

Was this article helpful?

Share your feedback


Thank you!